qualities in a future son or daughter-in-law

I was recently asked a question on Twitter by the very fabulous Vena…”What qualities would you want in a son-in-law?  It got me thinking!

The following list of personal qualities are all desirable. What interested me though is that even though my daughters are very different characters, I would look for the same qualities in both my future son-in-laws.

To make it more interesting, I have limited myself to choosing just 5. I have marked these with an *

AMBITIOUS.      
ANALYTICAL.
COMPETENT.
CONGENIAL.
CONSCIENTIOUS.
COOPERATIVE.
COURAGEOUS. *
DECISIVE.
DIPLOMATIC.
DISCREET.
EFFICIENT.
ENTHUSIASTIC.
FUNNY *
HONEST.*
IMAGINATIVE.
INDUSTRIOUS.
LEADERSHIP 
LEVEL-HEADED.
LOYAL.
OBSERVANT.
OPEN-MINDED.
ORDERLY.
PATIENT. *
PERSISTENT.
PERSUASIVE.
PUNCTUAL. *
RESOURCEFUL.
SINCERE.
SYMPATHETIC.

So there we are boys of Devon. Don’t say you haven’t been told what their Dad will expect from you!

And if you are wondering about “punctual”, well for me it has always been something important and tends to show a basic politeness and an ability to put others before yourself. Which of course is a very desirable quality.

What about you – future  son-in-law or daughter-in-law – what qualities would you look for? You can only choose 5 though. Those are the rules!

About onlydads

Single Dad living near Totnes in Devon. I founded www.onlydads.org in 2007 and live with my daughters Priya, 14 and Anya 11. I write about single parenting, work, overcoming trials and tribulations and sometimes not overcoming trials and tribulations.
This entry was posted in Bob blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to qualities in a future son or daughter-in-law

  1. Vena Ramphal says:

    Thank you for writing this, Bob. Its significant that you’d choose the same five qualities in both sons-in-law, even though your daughters have different characters. It flags up a really important point that daughters across the world would do well to remember when choosing a husband. There is a difference between ‘character’ as in personality, and ‘character’ as in what-you’re-made-of: your fundamental orientation towards the world and other people. The latter counts more.

    • onlydads says:

      Thank you for the prompt and the comment Vena.

      What is also interesting is just how many people (I include myself) do not really look in depth at the “what-you-are-made-of” fundamentals in our potential partners.

      Why is that I wonder?

  2. Hi Bob, Great minds think alike! I posted this yesterday http://bit.ly/ipNwHf which is an open letter from my wife to her future Daughter-in-Law. My stepdaughter’s dad and I have very similar views on future beaux for our nine year-old, which can be summed up in 5 words: Best. Keep. Well. Away. Son.

Leave a Reply

