Great Customer Service

Many of you reading this will know that @coffeecurls delights in good customer service. Sometimes, it really is worth writing about! Her posts have inspired this one.

In the last few months I have had dealings with two global companies. Nikon and Land Rover. What a difference! What an astonishing difference in the way they care for their customers.

Those who read this bit of nonsense will know that my Nikon D70 is the most expensive bit of kit I have ever bought for myself (bar said Land Rover which you can read about here – but I wouldn’t – it’s all a bit depressing!)

Not long ago my camera simply stopped taking pictures?? Finding a camera repair shop around these parts is difficult, and my attempts at fixing my camera were not working (didn’t have a clue what I was doing if I’m honest), so I clicked onto the Nikon website to see if there were any clues as to what might be going wrong.

Within minutes I was talking to a man in their repair centre. He was concerned that my camera wasn’t working. He asked me questions, got me to try a few things, and then suggested I send it off to them to look at.

He was careful to tell me the importance of careful packing, told me what to say in a covering letter, and apologised that I had had this problem. It all felt good. The camera is over 5 years old, way beyond any warranty. But the care that was being taken seemed genuine.

I packed and posted the camera and two days later I received an email telling me it had been received safe and sound.

I was then notified that it was with the repair team, and they would report back as soon as they could.

A day later I received notification that the camera had been fixed. It was something they could do easily! They attached an invoice which stated there would be no charge.

This was followed up with a letter and another email informing me that the camera was fixed and would be despatched to my house by courier.

This morning it arrived. Fixed, clean and bright.

From the moment I picked up the ‘phone to Nikon and spoke to someone (how rare is that these days?) to the point that my camera is now returned, their customer care has been focussed, precise, and so very reassuring.

Nikon – hats off to you and “thank you” What a great company!

It feels good to be able to say “thank you” in a public way to a company that has gone out of it’s way to be helpful. Of course, they will have a customer for life now. Have you had any brilliant customer service lately?

About onlydads

Single Dad living near Totnes in Devon. I founded www.onlydads.org in 2007 and live with my daughters Priya, 14 and Anya 11. I write about single parenting, work, overcoming trials and tribulations and sometimes not overcoming trials and tribulations.
This entry was posted in Bob blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great Customer Service

  1. Rosanne says:

    Wow, I am aspiring to someone writing about my customer service like that !
    Well done Nikon now feel I need to buy a new camera.

    • onlydads says:

      I am sure your customer service is second to none.

      What market this out was the attention to detail from such a global company. That just seems very (and sadly) rare these days.

      Bob x

Leave a Reply

