Parenting Collywobbles

I’ve got those just at the minute!

Collywobbles – a nervous rumbling in the gut.

Readers of this blog and my twitter stream over the last few months will appreciate that as my girls are growing up, I have found myself coping (or trying to cope) with additional pressures.

More than ever I am getting what I can only describe as parenting vertigo…an overriding sence that the next year or so will dictate how my girls come out of their fairly messy and disjointed upbringing.It fills me with unease.

An email from my best mate the other day brought things home to me (I won’t go into detail) but it basically suggested it’s about time I sort myself out and settle down with a nice woman.

My 11 y/o has been saying this to me for years. I know that she is going through life with a sense that things would be better at home if there was a woman around. It’s probably true.

For my eldest, I need to be her rock…especially just now. 14 is a nightmare age and having a Dad who is distracted with work, bored by her social life, and despairing of her chaotic approach to life (it is too close to home for my comfort), is not doing her any good. At all.

Somebody recently calculated how much time they had spent on Twitter. It may have been MJM, who has tweeted about the same length of time and number of tweets (about 16,000). I can’t remember what the amount of time was – but it was horrendous.

When your eldest child turns to you and says “you care more about twitter than me” you have, as a man and a Dad, a few ways you can deal with such a statement.

This Dad listened. She probably has a point!

I am not sure how to do this – but I need to re-find my parenting self-confidence. Being nervous about the whole thing will not serve me or the girls well.

About onlydads

Single Dad living near Totnes in Devon. I founded www.onlydads.org in 2007 and live with my daughters Priya, 14 and Anya 11. I write about single parenting, work, overcoming trials and tribulations and sometimes not overcoming trials and tribulations.
This entry was posted in Bob blogs, Putting children first. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Parenting Collywobbles

  1. Pingback: >Wednesday Web Round-up | Lesley's Blog

Leave a Reply

