Hemming, privacy, and children

…just adding my tuppence worth…

when I was listening to the radio yesterday afternoon I heard Hemming’s outburst in the House of Commons when he named a footballer, claiming his right to do so under parliamentary privilege.

I had three immediate reactions:

  1. That is an abuse of parliamentary privilege – you are dabbling in gossip and this is just unedifying. We do not elect MPs to dabble in Gossip!
  2. the footballer in question is supremely talented, handsome, and popular – I suspected an element of simple pure male jealousy.
  3. what about the footballer’s children? They are going to face hell in the days and weeks ahead.

I really do hope Hemming informed the footballer’s family that he was going to name him beforehand, so the family had a chance to prepare for the inevitable onslaught…?

I am not an in expert in constitutional law – but I do know there is a clamour for making all family law matters public. In fact we seem to live in a society where we think everything should be made public

My two questions are quite simple.

  • Why are we so obsessed with other people’s private lives?
  • Why can’t some things be kept private. If we believe in “children first” then surely some things should remain private?

…or am I missing something?

About onlydads

Single Dad living near Totnes in Devon. I founded www.onlydads.org in 2007 and live with my daughters Priya, 14 and Anya 11. I write about single parenting, work, overcoming trials and tribulations and sometimes not overcoming trials and tribulations.
This entry was posted in Bob blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hemming, privacy, and children

  1. I see all this is a very different way, I see this about a man being protected under the vague idea it is to protect his family, sorry mate but bit late for that now.

    The women is painted as the bad person as she tempted him away from the loving family man that he so obviously is *ahem*

    Either protect both their names or neither, they are both adults and if you have an affair deal with the result. As someone who makes more money from his sponsorship that from playing football because people want to buy the crap as they want to be like him, HE should have protected his image by not going off shagging.

    Oh and also never mess with Twitter…

    🙂

    • onlydads says:

      Thank you for your comments Jo

      The truth is I do not know enough of the background to reply to you…Is she really being portrayed as the bad one and him as the good one. That would make no sense at all?

      …but you are certainly correct in your final point. Numbers alone make Twitter out of control…I can smell legislation being drafted as I type!

      Bob x

  2. fleetwoodboy says:

    I don’t think we as the general public give a monkeys about other peoples sex life. The newspapers are obsessed with selling newspapers and anything will do . We,re nuts if we buy it for that purpose.
    Hemmings should spend more of his priviledge time exposing what goes on in secret at childrens courts and how social services are “stealing” children for adoption and care to fulfil their quoters. Now that is a scandal worth taking up, and I’m sure you’ve come across it in your travels.

    • onlydads says:

      I totally agree there are bigger fish to fry!

      But, the sad truth is, we, the british public seem to lap this stuff up!

Leave a Reply

