Solicitors – it needn’t be random!

When I wrote about the importance of internet lead generation the wonderful Nicky replied that the whole thing might still be a bit “random”. It got me thinking…

OnlyDads and OnlyMums engage with family solicitors (in particular) more than just about anyone I know. When clients can’t find their local Resolution member solicitor or mediator on our directories, we will help them find their nearest good quality family solicitor. We look for Resolution membership, a team with particular expertise in different areas of family law, a good description of their ethics, and an approachable friendly manner.

Because we do this day-in day-out, I do feel qualified to offer Solicitors some feedback: This is free advice and comes from a good place 🙂

Websites:

  • If your firm was established in 1793 by Randolph Arbuthnot – do not go on and on about it. No one really cares!
  • Please don’t fill your site with pictures of grey men in grey suits with biographies that (always) include…”walking, sailing, and gardening” What is that about?!  
  • If Chambers say you are the best thing since sliced bread – there is no need to splash it all over the website. It comes across as a bit showy-offy.
  • Delete every mention of the word “leading”. There are 000’s of law firms all over the UK. You can’t all be leading!
  • It is not the law that your websites have to be all the same and all a bit boring. Hat’s off to those who employ a bit of contemporary design and imagination!

Receptionists – (especially those answering the phone)

One rule here – if you have recently head-hunted a receptionist from your local GP’s surgery, retrain them quick. Their job is different now!

There was an occasion last week when I needed to get a Solicitor in Essex to offer some urgent telephone advice to a Dad who came home to find that his wife had left home and taken the children. I spoke to 3 firms. I was unable to get passed reception on the first two. All I needed was to find a solicitor who was willing to pick up the phone and speak to this distraught Dad. So frustrating. The third one put me straight through to a lovely female solicitor who listened, got what we needed, and ‘phoned the Dad straight away. Simple customer service.

Twitter

I think there are two golden rules:

  1. It’s “social” so chat to people and don’t be boring on about the law all the time!
  2. sorry….my mistake…there is just one Golden rule!

Examples of legal websites we like:

Fiona McLeman

Cannon & Smith

Collaborative Family Lawyers

All slightly tongue in cheek – but I do hope what I have written gives some food for thought. Bob

About onlydads

Single Dad living near Totnes in Devon. I founded www.onlydads.org in 2007 and live with my daughters Priya, 14 and Anya 11. I write about single parenting, work, overcoming trials and tribulations and sometimes not overcoming trials and tribulations.
This entry was posted in Bob blogs, Family Law. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Solicitors – it needn’t be random!

  1. bumbling says:

    I’m a solicitor, albeit a commercial one.

    And now I need a private client solicitor.

    And I have no idea how to find one!! It’s ridiculous how difficult lawyers make it to either find them, or work out whether you’d be comfortable talking to them by the information on their website. If you’re not in the know, it difficult to know where to start. Your tips are good – lawyers have a lot to learn on this front.

    • onlydads says:

      Thank you for these comments. It is really good that an actual lawyer sees the sense in what I am saying 🙂

      I think there is something all Solicitors could do really easily – and that is just be a more open on their websites.

      It’s a bit like dating site profiles (I’m quickly becoming an expert at this too!!) 80 % of female profiles talk about “nights in with a DVD and a bottle of wine”

      …So what!

      I think the client base of solicitors (certainly private clients) would respond well to real pictures and real information about who they might be employing.

      I chose my solicitor when I found out she hated (HATED) losing and was a single Mum who understood all the pressures that would result from what I was about to go through, and on first interview made me laugh with a most inappropriate joke about dogs and spilled out the fact that she smoked roll-ups and liked expensive french red!

      …a human being. That’s what I was after. Somebody human to hold my hand through what was going to be a really difficult period of my life.

      …and none of that was on her profile – It was all graduated from “Guildford College and spent a year working with a “leading” London firm etc…blah blah

      I’ve gone on again – but I think this stuff is important

      Bob x

  2. CoffeeCurls says:

    Stirring the pot again….

    I think a lot of companies in general (Solicitors included) tend to forget that their client base will be a diverse mix of people who may be put off using them if their website is too austere looking. People, ie potential clients, often need a solicitor when times aren’t good for them and will almost certainly be more likely to opt for a user friendly company who they can relate to. Rather than pick a firm who look as though they would look down their nose at you!

    Lisa @CoffeeCurls

    xx

    • onlydads says:

      @coffeecurls – thanks so much for you comments. You are spoton as always.

      …you should really go into business designing websites for corporates. They would have images of welcoming cake on their home page and all sorts 🙂

      Bob x

Leave a Reply

