Proudest Dad in the World

Anya literally skipped off to school yesterday morning. Sports Day in her Primary School is just that…a whole day of sport 🙂 and she just loves it!

She is the most modest of children, but I knew that she thought she could beat the boys and the girls in the 4 lap, end of sports day race. For such a tiny-tot she has an endurance that is something to behold.

When the race came, about 25 or 30 children (boys and girls from yrs 5 and 6) gathered at the start line. Parents gathered around or looked for a vantage point at various places around the field. I stood close to the start. I’d be lying if I said I did not want Anya to win. For her sake as much as mine.

When the race started, Anya found herself face down on the floor. She was in effect bundled out of the race. The field ran off at break neck pace. Anya was still on the floor. I looked at her. She was bewildered and more than a little shocked.

There was a moment. A split second. She had a choice:

She could have walked over to me and burst into tears. I knew she wanted to. I could see it in her eyes. I didn’t breathe a word. I just waited.

Or she could get herself off the deck and run her heart out.

She chose the latter.

Think for a moment of Stuart Pearce starring in Chariots of Fire – and you will get the picture! With scarred and bloody knees, and one hand holding her bruised side, she ran after them.

I stood and watched and couldn’t speak. She caught up with the main bunch and over the next three laps she had passed them all bar two.  She finished third.

Those of you reading this who know me will appreciate that I love P and A to bits. I know my girls have not had the easiest start in life. Being brought up by just a Dad is simply NOT that great. They do however, become resilient. And yesterday I was an extra proud Dad!

What a lovely post this will turn into if you too feel able to share moments when your children have made you “extra proud”

About onlydads

Single Dad living near Totnes in Devon. I founded www.onlydads.org in 2007 and live with my daughters Priya, 14 and Anya 11. I write about single parenting, work, overcoming trials and tribulations and sometimes not overcoming trials and tribulations.
This entry was posted in Bob blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Proudest Dad in the World

  1. bumbling says:

    *sniffle* [at my desk at work].

    Go Anya!

  2. Josh Ray says:

    Wow! Great job Anya and way to hold strong, dad! Loved the story!

    • onlydads says:

      thank you for the comment – the word you use is “great”

      Hats off to all great kids I say 🙂

  3. You owe me a box of tissues, Bob. Any parent worth their salt, would be hard pushed not to well up at your heartfelt story of Anya overcoming her awful setback. Well done Anya 🙂
    With regards to stories when our children make us feel extra proud, there are so many, where would one start? … Oh yes. 3 grandchildren 😉

    • onlydads says:

      Thank you Evie. I can’t think of Granchildren just yet!! But I can see the time when (hopefully) I will be as proud as you

      Bob X

Leave a Reply

