Dads and Festivals

When my pal Louis and I sat down on Monday evening after our Dads Group we got talking about dads and festivals…

…It may have been the Old Speckled Hen (not a sponsored post, sadly) that helped but within minutes we were buzzing with ideas:

A tent for Dads and their children. In it we could have:

  1. Story reading and story telling
  2. An ongoing corporate art project – you know, big chunk of wood and thirty chisels and a tutor. That sort of thing.  (not to self: prepare risk assessment documentation, insurance policies, easy access routes through to the St John’s Ambulance team…)
  3. Information for dads
  4. Information for young people
  5. IT links, so pics and videos could be sent to Mum and/or grandparents and friends
  6. Midnight hikes
  7. A “let’s all make breakfast together” club
  8. A place for Dads to come and get a moment’s peace and quiet

…we just went on and on with more and more positive ideas. The conclusion we reached is that it would be a fab thing to do and something OnlyDads should get on with!

I know a tiny bit about management, and I realise that we will need:

  1. A big tent
  2. Time to attend say 6 festivals
  3. A bit of cash and/or sponsorship
  4. Some volunteer help in the tent to organise stuff
  5. Management time to work our way through the logistics
  6. A bit more time to deal with the unforeseen

Knowing a tiny bit about management, I decided this morning to undertake a strategic overview. Fag packet strategic analysis completed, I can now see we are a bit lacking on all 6 requirements just at the mo 😦

So readers…good idea or not? Oh, and if you have a big tent and an old tree trunk we could have for some chain-saw carving, please let us know!

 

 

 

 

About onlydads

Single Dad living near Totnes in Devon. I founded www.onlydads.org in 2007 and live with my daughters Priya, 14 and Anya 11. I write about single parenting, work, overcoming trials and tribulations and sometimes not overcoming trials and tribulations.
This entry was posted in Bob blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Dads and Festivals

  1. rugbymadsdad says:

    Brilliant idea go for it and good luck…..

  2. Love this idea. If you could get a group of Only Dads to attend and volunteer for 3 hour slots, that would be awesome. I appreciate they’ve got to pay for their tickets, but am sure they’d support. It could be such a positive reinforcement of Dads, their contribution, their necessity, their FUN!

    Best of luck with it 🙂

  3. Jules says:

    I reckon this could be pretty damn good Bob…I’d happily volunteer to help out!!

  4. Rebecca says:

    Great idea, why don’t we have three tents, one for OnlyDads and one for OnlyMums and one in the middle for OnlyDating?!

  5. Anna Ellis says:

    This is a great idea! So great, in fact, that I had a perfect image of what it could look like. Unfortunately, I’m no artist, so you’ll have to put up with doggerel:

    There’s something strange occurring at the far end of our site –
    I’m used to festival weirdness, but this is a delight!
    There’s 3 huge tents, all colourful – in fact, they’re large marquees,
    And whatever’s there has campers buzzing round ’em just like bees.

    The left one’s blue and gadgety – so dads and lads abound.
    The right one’s pink and feminine and full of girly sounds.
    The middle one’s all glittery – that looks like it could be fun,
    So decision made, I set off ‘cross the campsite at a run.

    They smiled at me and beckoned and invited me to view;
    “There’s Only Dads, and Only Mums, and Only Dating too!”
    “We’ve a party on tonight, or you’re welcome to chat and sit.”
    I told them I’d be back once I’d got my kids to the mosh pit.

    Well I soon returned and had a go at the chainsaws and the wood –
    I was never great at crafts but they said my garden gnome looked good.
    Then I joined the other mums and had a manicure and wine.
    My tribe came to watch the sun go down and share some precious time.

    We set off home next morning and the kids dozed as I drove,
    So I hummed a tune and thought with a smile that’d I’d found a treasure trove
    Of like-minded friends and families; then my little girl said “When
    We go back camping next year can we do Only Tents again?”

  6. Great idea. I’ll drop the kids off at yours on the Friday and pick them up on Monday morning.

  7. ASO says:

    Ive been browsing online greater than three hours today, but I by no means found any interesting article like yours. It¡¦s lovely worth sufficient for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content as you probably did, the internet shall be much more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

