Nursing a Semi

Being Bob running OnlyDads brings with it a distinct feeling of Deja vu about many of the conversations I have. There are two things everyone asks me. Well when I say everyone, I really mean women…

…the first is “how can a women leave her children?”, which is then nearly always followed up with a quick “I could never do that!”. I sense many are inviting a good gossiping session, so my standard reply of “well it’s not that rare, and there are often genuine and heart-breaking reasons why this has happened” tends to take the wind out of their sails.

The second however, has never been that easy for me to answer. The question goes along the lines of “what’s the hardest thing about raising girls on your own?”

It’s never been that easy because the list goes on and on…! One day it might be the sheer unadultareted  monotony of single parenting, the housework and the endless laundary. Other days (frequent in this house) it’s the battles over homework and keeping their rooms tidy.

It’s not even the fact that young women are odd creatures more emotional and prone to mood swings. I can sort of live with that too.

No, it was last Sunday sat on the sofa with Preez, my 14 y/0, watching Jeremy Clarkson interviewing Rupert Grint that becomes a glaring example of what is most difficult!

Thanks to me spurting wine at Clarkson talking about “nursing a semi”, I now have a 14 y/o (with ever such a slight smirk on her face) constantly asking me what was so funny…

…and there are some things that Dads just do not want to discuss with their daughters!

About onlydads

Single Dad living near Totnes in Devon. I founded www.onlydads.org in 2007 and live with my daughters Priya, 14 and Anya 11. I write about single parenting, work, overcoming trials and tribulations and sometimes not overcoming trials and tribulations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nursing a Semi

  1. Lol, that’s when you need an Aunty to send them to talk to!! I do all that side of it with mine and it’s a real struggle to get them to join in the conversation but I carry on regardless and at least I know they’ve got the truth, red faces or not (theirs not mine!!)

  2. Will says:

    Talking about unmentionables is certainly a facer… You may yet discover that she already knows, or at least has an idea, and is enjoying watching Dad squirm.

    When a boyfriend first appeared for my oldest (now 18) I asked her “do we have to have the conversation?”. After a short puzzled pause, she blushed, looked horrified and said “NO! Never. Not ever…”

    Middleun (15 yo) now has a friend who is a boy… I am just biding my time.

  3. I’m a girl and i’m telling you that your daughter knew exactly he meant:)

    xx

Leave a Reply

