School Skirt Length – or a Dad’s Total Hypocrisy

Here is the thing:

When I was 15 and at school, the uniform police dictated dark grey school trousers, white or grey shirt, and a blazer. What did I wear?

Skin tight black jeans, black shirt, black desert boots and a “peanut” tie! These were the days of The Stranglers after all!

 

Being a mixed comp, girls too came to school in a variety of different fashion statements! The ones I liked (and this will surprise you) were the girls who wore flat shoes, short skirts and those over the knee socks. #endof

Between the age of 13 and 18, I was able to scientifically prove that these girls were more fun had a most desirable spirit and energy about them.

Roll on a few years, and I find myself having daily arguments with my eldest D about the length of her school skirt. I have tried to reason with myself – but the truth is I want her to go to school dressed like she is captain of the lunch-time library club!

I know it’s hypocrisy of the highest order – just wondering if mums and other dads go through the same thing?

 

 

About onlydads

Single Dad living near Totnes in Devon. I founded www.onlydads.org in 2007 and live with my daughters Priya, 14 and Anya 11. I write about single parenting, work, overcoming trials and tribulations and sometimes not overcoming trials and tribulations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to School Skirt Length – or a Dad’s Total Hypocrisy

  1. Jenni says:

    Oh short skirts are back in fashion again. I didn’t have this problem with my older daughters,trousers were the thing, but now the youngest has started High School. After the first day,when she looked so neat and tidy(and remeniscent of a librarian),the waist band was turned over,the tie hangs below the neckline like a necklace and the cardigan is undone. I try to reason, but no I’m not cool. Her siblings survived, and if I’m honest, I was a student in the 60’s when mini-skirts were in,I did too…..but she’s my baby…

  2. Liz says:

    Lol,Yes, but like you, secretly think it’s ridiculous. Both my partner (who’s a teacher) and I believe that is exactly what it is ‘the uniform police’. As long as it’s not completely outrageous I tend to turn a blind eye to be honest. Doesn’t matter how strict the school is kids will always find a way of expressing their individuality. Someone having bright red hair or wearing odd socks will not, in our opinion, affect their learning. Sending them home, excluding them for these rather trivial reasons WILL. I know not everyone will agree with mine and my partner’s views, but I don’t hold with all the usual arguments for wearing school uniform. And if there MUST be a strict code then shouldn’t teachers follow it too? After all it’s up to the adults to set the example isn’t it? What we don’t like is a child being told off or sent home because they have dyed their hair, have a nose stud or wear short skirts, too much make-up etc – while the very person telling them off is wearing any number of those things if not all of them! So the kids learn that the adult world is full of hypocrisy. No wonder they want to cheat ‘the system’. Us adults (well some) still use the ‘Do as I say not as I do’ routine and then get angry when the kids copy their behaviour. And when children point out the hypocrisy they are told they are rude and cheeky! What do we really teach ’em in schools these days? I feel a Pink Floyd song coming on……… http://bit.ly/HVQTC 😉

    Huge difference between schooling and education – don’t think dress should be a huge issue.
    Just my opinion.

  3. Ruth Rushton says:

    At one of our local secondary schools, they come down hard on having your top button done up and your tie straight and proper. It’s actually all a ploy to make the children think that they are rebelling against the school clothing rules and so they won’t rebel against other rules – seems to work.

  4. Yeah it smells a teeny bit of hypocrisy… But that’s what being a parent is all about… Me and my OH already talk about what our boys will and won’t be doing when they are teenagers… As you may guess they won’t be doing what we did!

  5. This has inspired a response in me which I’ll have to blog or my comment will be as long as your post! Watch this space …
    Well written and astute as always Bob. I refrained from clicking on the vid …GEMA has prob blocked it from DE anyway ….

    • onlydads says:

      I look forward to reading your post…

      …didn’t you have to go to school dressed in the a-line, knee length fashion? Or is that just my imagination??

      #dontanswer

  6. The official skirt length at my school was below the knee. You’d be amazed how many ways there are of getting round that – everything from wearing the mini skirt under the school skirt until you got 50 yards away from home, to persuading your mum to buy you the straightest school skirt she could find and then rolling it up at the waistband until it reached the desired length…

    I’d trust your daughter; I found mine was quite able to define her own boundaries with her own age group (and those who were several years older as well).

Leave a Reply

