Film and Video Making Equipment

I know that Twitter can be very helpful on IT and technical matters, and being a man with no Mrs at home to ask and being a bit of a thicko on technical innovation I am hoping somebody out there can help.

My Daughter, Priya is really keen on making videos. This goes along these lines: She grabs my camera and/or her phone. Runs off with youngest sister. Takes short videos of “village life” and herself and her sister doing stuff in the foreground. She then comes home, occupies “my” slot at the computer for an hour, uploads all the video clips, chooses some rather crass pop song, and then merges it all together to create a video.

But the thing is this. For the first time in her life, she has really found something that she is proud of. I’m not just saying this as her Dad, but she has an artistic ability in putting words and image together in a very meaningful (and not always obvious) way.

(not wanting to get the violins out) but Preez has had a few knocks in life, and finding this outlet for her artistic and creative nature may well be the making of her.

To date, she has been using an odd assortment of cameras and phones and using free “trial” video editing software.

I am writing this in the real hope that someone can advise me what editing software is “standard” and any tips on what video camera to get for her would be appreciated too. Christmas is just around the corner…

About onlydads

Single Dad living near Totnes in Devon. I founded www.onlydads.org in 2007 and live with my daughters Priya, 14 and Anya 11. I write about single parenting, work, overcoming trials and tribulations and sometimes not overcoming trials and tribulations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Film and Video Making Equipment

  1. CoffeeCurls says:

    Sadly I’m clueless on this but will RT in the hope it reaches some nice savvy type who can help you x

  2. Gaina says:

    Have a look at Magix Movie Edit pro to get her started. I used this quite happily for a few years before moving onto Sony Vegas (if she gets really engrossed then – though pricey – she might want to step up to that later). Camera wise, I’d go for a decent pocket camera that also takes HD video with sound. For that you could do worse than investigate Canon’s rage.

    Hope that helps! 🙂

  3. Catherine says:

    Hi Bob,
    I only read your blogs occasionally (not being a single parent a lot of the stuff is hard to relate to) but I’m glad i stumbled across this one on twitter because I might be able to help.
    Most camcorders you buy will usually come with some sort of video editing software (usual suspects are ‘flipshare’ or ‘cyberlink’. Both are very good – I’ve only had proper experience with cyber link but that’s decent enough and heaps better than windows movie maker or any trials (these obviously run out so full potential is never reached, in my opinion). Good cameras are the simple hand held ones like this one:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Flip-Video-Definition-Camcorder-Memory/dp/B0029U29A8/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1320681642&sr=1-1
    If Pri really has a talent for this stuff (and it sounds like she does) then there are various courses in the school hols she can go on such as: http://www.act2cam.com/courses/film-camps/index.html
    If i hadn’t found a particular love of science/geology when i was at school i was very interested in doing something along the lines of film making hence why I’m quite clued up on it all… maybe its a genetic thing?
    Hope at least some of that is useful!
    Catherine 🙂

  4. Kate Takes 5 says:

    Think I know just the lady for you – will hook you up on Twitter.

  5. (Thanks Kate!)
    Hello! Well I am not uber techy, but I did used to run a Media and Film Dept in a secondary school. Camera wise I agree with Gaina, pocket flip cams which are HD. I use a Kodak Zi8 for my vlogs and it’s great. A tripod (or a mini tripod might be deemed cooler by self concious teenagers) will instantly improve quality as will a small mic, either can be bought for £15. A carry case to protect the purchase is also a very good thing.
    Software wise I loved i movie on the mac and I am gutted I no longer have access to macs, but saying that I use Windows Movie maker to edit my vlogs, some people complain it’s limited but actually I think that’s a good thing artistically. I believe constraint leads to greater creativity. Less is more and your daughter is clearly finding that out for herself by the sounds of it. Good films don’t have loads of silly effects and transitions. Plus it’s free with windows.
    As she progresses you could shop around, Adobe is a good standard but expensive. There is lots of free software too which I am not up to speed on. I would spend on camera equipment and a tripod, there’s nothing worse than shaky footage (and poor sound) And perhaps invest in a film club or film summer school or take Media Studies at GCSE.
    Good Luck, to you both!

    • Gaina says:

      Thanks for mentioning tripods, Alexander – I forgot about that bit! Gorilla Pod’s are brilliant as the legs can be wrapped a million different ways to provide stability on a flat surface as well railings, tree branches etc. to give you a unique perspective. Also really easy to pack into small spaces.

  6. David says:

    From my expereince, all serious pro-sumer video editing is done with Adobe Premier, and Apple Final Cut Pro. There are consumer lower cost version for both of these, Adobe Elements and Apple iMovie. The recent changes to Apple Final Cut Pro X (10) have upset a lot of serious editors, as it now looks like an advance version of iMove. This is leading a lot of video editors to migrate to Adobe, which runs on both PC & Apple platforms.

    So my tip is to get to grips with the Adobe software in the long-term, if possible.

    There are a lot of simpler to use applications available for younger editors as other posted have stated.

Leave a Reply

