Memories of Christmas

Readers of this blog will know that I have been having a rant at some of the recent Christmas adverts!

Such ranting has made me reflect on what used to make Christmas special for me when I was a child. The one thing I can state straight away, is that my fondest memories do not revolve around presents! So, what are my most precious Christmas memories? I can name at least three:

Getting the decorations down from the loft. Out would come the same raggedy tree and the same baubles year after year. Adding some tinsel around the family photographs and some spray snow in the corner of the porch windows was always accompanied by the “why don’t the lights work” frustrations. Just magical!

The arrival of my Nan on Christmas Eve really stands out as the “start of Christmas” proper. I don’t know why really? That said, I think for many children there is something re-assuring about having Grandma around. Getting her settled and passing her her Snowball” was always my first job!

Christmas morning itself saw the arrival of the neighbours for a “glass of sherry”. It was ALWAYS sherry!? In those days,of course, all my neighbours were “uncles and aunties”.

Uncle Albert (no really!) and Uncle Tom (no really) were two war veterans. Albert was a 19 yo paratrooper at DDay. He made only one jump when he landed on a mine and got blown to bits. He was left blinded with the most horrific scars – but the banter between him and Tom kept me entertained and fascinated in equal measure. (my Uncle Tom seemed to have flown planes, driven tanks, and single-handedly defeated the Third Reich!).  Meanwhile my “aunties” would be deciding whether they could “risk” a second sherry.

…they always did take the risk!

It strikes me that these memories are nothing special. Or should I say nothing out of the ordinary. But for me as a boy they made Christmas a very special time of year :-).

What are your memories – are they based on presents or something altogether more mundane magical?

 

 

 

 

 

About onlydads

Single Dad living near Totnes in Devon. I founded www.onlydads.org in 2007 and live with my daughters Priya, 14 and Anya 11. I write about single parenting, work, overcoming trials and tribulations and sometimes not overcoming trials and tribulations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Memories of Christmas

  1. karen Jones says:

    Bob did you live next door to me ? oh the memories of the 70’s and those disgusting snowballs. My brother and I ALWAYS mine swept them and then ran outside to be sick in the snow. There was always snow (well it was Birmingham).

    Wonderful post, I think maybe something of those days still exists in most families (or I do hope so) xx

  2. My number one memory would have to be the smell of the pine needles as mum opened the parcel from Germany on Christmas Eve. My grandfather would send us a branch from one of the pinetrees in his garden every year. I can’t remember the presents, but the dark chocolate christmas tree decorations have made me a lifelong dark chocolate fan…

Leave a Reply

