Wishes for my Daughters

I stumbled across KateTake5’s post via my pal Keith. It goes along the theme of your Top 5 wishes for your children.

I thought I would give it a go.

(I hasten to add my “top 5” will be dynamic and ever-changing. But what follows is true for me in April 2012)

So. I hope my daughters:

 

UNDERSTAND the human condition – that they are part mammal and part angel – and that both are fine!

APPRECIATE that the kindness of strangers is to be received with a glad heart – and offered back in buckets.

GET that they can do anything with their life. I mean anything!

LEARN (from A. A. Milne) that “weeds are flowers too, once you get to know them”.

DISCOVER their own particular gift(s) and not let them lie dormant.  

 …and if my darling daughters stumble across this post in 30 years time and think “what a load of tosh! – all he did was nag us about eating at the table and having tidy bedrooms” then I hope that they will appreciate that dad too was just a mammal trying to find some peace and quiet in his cave.

About onlydads

Single Dad living near Totnes in Devon. I founded www.onlydads.org in 2007 and live with my daughters Priya, 14 and Anya 11. I write about single parenting, work, overcoming trials and tribulations and sometimes not overcoming trials and tribulations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wishes for my Daughters

  1. Your daughters are exceptionally beautiful, Bob. It shines from within them, as well as from without. A credit to you. They will read this list and be embarrassed, but they will be glowing with pride inside.

  2. This is such a touching post – your love for them shines through it. And what gorgeous daughters you have too – no need for wishes in the beauty stakes!

  3. I bet you that five is not nearly enough wishes, for what you wish for your girls, Bob? These are beautiful sentiments for two beautiful daughters.

    Having two grown up kids, myself. If it’s anything to go by. They tend to come back, 20 or so years down the line and tell you about all the things you did right, while they were growing up.

    And that is when you get to experience the APPRECIATE….

    in bucket loads 🙂

  4. Janelle says:

    So simple, but a really great list of admirable qualities there. I was wondering if my daughter would find my post too when she was older, and what she would think!

  5. John Clayton says:

    One day, I hope your kids do find this post. I hope my kids find my blog one day – and not just as a way to find out what Dad’s doing now.

  6. Pingback: Show Me the Links #13 - Real Men, Real Dads | Real Men, Real Dads

Leave a Reply

